Writing Objective Summaries

7 Sep

Usually I have no problem writing objective summaries. But this time around I found it kind of difficult. Idk why but i felt like i couldn’t create an EFFECTIVE summary in just 225 words this time around…. But I do feel we use objective summaries quite often in our daily lives- be it describing a book or movie to a friend, or having a little friendly debate. We’re always talking about what  ‘they say” in order to defend what “we say”… just food for thought!!

3 Responses to “Writing Objective Summaries”

  1. jdgard September 9, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Nice image. What does it mean to have an “effective” summary? Or, in other words, are there things in an objective summary that make it more or less effective?

    • dgray37 September 9, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

      Thank you thank you….. I think an effective summary list all the high points, the central arguments, without giving too much detail and stays objective…. I just feel like mine was too wordy.

      • jbnixon October 14, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

        Yeah its hard to keep it short. I had to make sure my summery wasn’t bigger than the article it self.

Leave a comment